Knox's Headquarters State Historic Site, NY
Historic Site Information
Once known as Mount Ellison, this elegant fieldstone mansion showcases the mix of English and Dutch influences in the Hudson Valley's history. Built in 1754, the property was the country estate of John and Catharine Ellison, prosperous gentry whose house and gristmill operations were served by a staff of enslaved Africans. During the Revolutionary War, the property served as a bustling military headquarters for some of Washington's highest-ranking officers, including Generals Henry Knox, Nathanial Greene, and Horatio Gates. Rooms are carefully furnished in period style, including a slave quarters and several unique "hands on" rooms where guests may handle reproductions of original furnishings and clothing. Occasional living history programs, cooking demonstrations, and special theme tours bring to life the house and grounds as they were when shared by the Ellisons and their military guests.
Hiking trails allow guests to explore the woodlands and provide a dramatic vantagepoint for viewing the ruins of the Ellison family's 1741 gristmill and the stone King's Highway Bridge crossing the Silver Stream gorge. The Jane Colden Native Plant Sanctuary, also on the grounds, recalls America's first woman botanist through a collection of the plants she catalogued while living nearby. Visitors can walk the wooded trail lined with wildflowers. Cross-country skiing trails provide opportunities to explore the site in its winter glory.
Knox's Headquarters State Historic Site has been named as a significant stop on the Hudson River Valley National Heritage Area Revolutionary War trail.
Knox’s Headquarters State Historic Site is open Memorial Day weekend to the Sunday of Labor Day, Wednesday – Saturday 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM & Sunday 1:00 to 5:00 PM. Tour, school and camp groups are welcome by advance reservation only. Dates, times, hours of operations and admission fees are subject to change.
For more information, please call (845) 561-1765 ext. 22.